To the father who didn’t have to stay

Thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for choosing to be my dad. You didn’t have to be and I definitely didn’t make it easy.

I was about five years old when you came into my life. Not really ever having any other father figures besides my uncle and my grandpa. My real father really screwed that one up for me. I never let people around me know how upset it really made me feel not having my dad in my life. I think that is a normal thing to be upset about, but it was always just way easier to shrug it off. I would go to those daddy swim things with my cousin’s dad and other than that I would just try to put it out of my mind. Being five you don’t think you would really be able to recall how you felt, but it makes sense because you are missing a whole half of what is suppose to be there.

I was a mommy’s girl of course because I didn’t really have any other choice. Don’t get me wrong, I have the best mom in the whole world and she does everything she can to make me happy, but that is a whole other article worthy post.

Long story short, at that point in time I never thought I could have a complete family without him. I didn’t ever think I was going to be able to have a dad walk me down the aisle on my wedding day either. But in this case I am so glad to be wrong. You finalized my adoption when I was six and not only did I get you but I got a whole family that came along with. I also got the wedding of my dreams.

Now when I look back, my actions didn’t always show how thankful I was. I was a teen with an attitude and you always got the worst end of it. At the time I was just mad that I couldn’t do what I wanted. Being a parent now I really do understand why your decisions were your decisions.

After you and mom divorced you still stayed. Of course any reasonable person would think, well of course he is going to stay he has been your dad for 13 years. The point is you didn’t have to. Regardless if I was 8 or 19, you didn’t have to continue being there for me. You didn’t have to, but you did. You not only have been there for me but you have also been the best grandpa to my little girl, and I will never be able to thank you enough for that.

Love,

Your little girl

Leave a comment